The Annual General Meeting of IEEE Student Branch, IEEE WIE Student Branch Affinity Group, and IEEE Computer Society Chapter of General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University for the Year 2024/2025

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) serves as a pivotal event for any organization, symbolizing a convergence of vision, cooperation, and progress. Recently, the IEEE Student Branch, IEEE WIE Student Branch Affinity Group, and IEEE Computer Society Chapter of General Sir John Kotelawala Defence University (KDU) came together for their AGM for the year 2024/2025. Held on the 7th of May 2024 at the FGS Auditorium, KDU, this event celebrated past achievements and charted a course for the future, promising both upheaval and empowerment.

The AGM provided a platform for honouring the inventive spirit driving the IEEE membership. Secretaries and Treasurers presented groundbreaking projects and initiatives through various presentations, workshops, and interactive sessions. From cutting-edge developments in artificial intelligence and machine learning to advancements in cybersecurity and robotics, the breadth of novelty on display was truly awe-inspiring.

Central to IEEE’s ethos is the empowerment of minds, fostering an environment where knowledge is shared and applied for societal betterment. The AGM exemplified this dedication by emphasizing community involvement.

The event hosted a plethora of distinguished guests including Chief Guest Major General Chinthaka Wickramasinghe USP USACGSC, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Defence & Administration), Guest of Honour and Counselor of IEEE Student Branch of KDU: Dr. Asela Gunasekara, Sri Lankan Section Chair: Mr. Dhammika Marasinghe, Chairperson, IEEE Computer Society Sri Lanka chapter: Professor Anuradha Jayakody, Chairperson, IEEE WIE Sri Lanka Section: Ms. Gresha Samarakkody, Chairperson, Student Activities Committee: Ms. Lihini Rajapakse, Chairperson, IEEE Computer Society Student Activities Committee: Mr. Randeesha Savindu, Founder, IEEE Women in Engineering Jamaica Affinity Group: Mrs. Sharlene Brown, Professor in Computer Science, University of Technology Jamaica: Prof. Damith Wickramanayake, IEEE Computer Society KDU Chapter Advisor: Dr. Pradeep Kalansooriya.Dean, Faculty of Engineering: Dr. Prof. Eng. Thushara Weerawardane, IEEE Student Branch Advisor: Dr. Kalani Ilmini, IEEE Student Branch Advisor: Mrs. Isuri Uwanthika, PES Chapter Advisor, HOD: Capt(L) KK Dadallage, Industry Relation Coordinator, IEEE Sri Lanka Section: Mr. Sidath Weerasinghe, Deans of the Faculties, Heads of Departments, and other notable figures from academia and industry.

One significant milestone of the AGM was the appointment of new members for the IEEE Student Branch, the IEEE WIE Student Branch Affinity Group, and the IEEE Computer Society Chapter of KDU. It also served as an occasion to appreciate the dedication and contributions of past executive committee members.

A smooth transition of the counselorship of the IEEE Student Branch from Dr. ADAI Gunasekara to Dr. Kalani Ilmini took place, ensuring continuity and guidance for future endeavours.

The IEEE AGM 2024 was a resounding success, encapsulating the spirit of cooperation and empowerment that defines the IEEE community. It’s an opportunity for the newly appointed executive committee members to embark on the journey ahead, carrying forward the lessons learned and the connections made, united in our commitment to harnessing technology for the greater good.